A Day in the Life of a 12 Year Old in Lockdown – By Oliver Cavaciuti

A Day in the Life of a 12 Year Old in Lockdown

At the beginning I was really unsure, and I didn’t know what it all meant. I know quite a lot more now and I’m trying to make the most of the time.

It feels weird and I’ve never experienced anything like this before.

When I wake up in a morning, I feel quite tired, but I usually stay in bed, relax and play on my I-pad, for quite a long time. In the mornings it feels like a holiday as we don’t have to go to school.

In the day, I don’t know what I’m going to be doing. Sometimes it feels nice and you can influence what can happen, like I can just chill if I want to, or do something more exciting like do my drawing course that Dad signed me up for. Sometimes though it feels like the day’s just being eaten up and you haven’t made the most of it.

On the days when I do make the most of it, I’ve done things that I wouldn’t normally get to do or have time to do, like running a half marathon in my garden.

I’m allowed to spend more time on my Playstation and I-pad than I usually am, I like not having a strict time limit, but sometimes it feels like I’m not supposed to be on it so much.

I don’t really like school that much, so I like being at home, but it has made me appreciate school a lot more. I much prefer having lessons at school than just being given work to do at home because the lessons are more engaging, and you learn a lot more when you’re at school. There’s a poster on the wall at school which says you learn more when you’re engaged, it says ‘tell me I’ll forget, show me I may remember, involve me and I’ll never forget’. I do miss seeing my friends, but we’re really lucky that I can still communicate with them, and that’s usually when I play with them on-line.

I don’t really know how I feel about what is going on in the world. I don’t fully understand what’s really going on. I don’t watch the news, I only see headlines on my I-pad. I don’t see anything positive in the media about it and that’s the main reason why I don’t want to think about it, it seems like the glass if half empty.

I think it’s going to be a real learning experience for people. Famous people have said it’s going to make them look at hygiene more and if something like this happens again, we’ll be more prepared. I think we’ll be making better use of time when this is over, we’ll think it’s more fun when we’ve got time do things.

I’ve enjoyed having a lot more free time and getting to spend more time with my family, even when my sister has a sleepover, we’re still all together! But I do hope it ends soon.