Ed blogs on Wheelchair Basketball

Wheelchair Basketball

 

Being able to play wheelchair basketball was a real opportunity for me. It really opened my eyes to the vast opportunities out there. Fully abled or disabled, we both have so many different sports to give a try. But we couldn’t have been able to try this outstanding sport without the massive help of the nothing less than inspirational Ian Brown. He showed us outstanding levels of patience (which he needed!) and support. In my eyes and hopefully everyone else who was part of the huge opportunity thought that he was an inspiration and a wheelchair basketball god. Wheelchair basket ball is an extremely fun sport and I couldn’t help falling in love with it and I’m sure everyone else who played would agree. I would help to try and give this school even more amazing opportunities like this one. I would love to try more disability sports because playing wheelchair basketball made me respect disability sports even more than before as I’ve actually played a disability sport so in my opinion, more disability sports will be warmly welcomed and respected to the school community. I feel extremely lucky to be part of this brand new and exciting experience and I’m sure anyone else in my privileged position would think. Learning new skills like wheelchair basketball are very important to sustain a healthy happy life but learning how to play wheelchair basketball should not be taken for granted as it a fast-growing sport and you never know when learning something new like this could come into use. And trying new things won’t harm you even if you don’t enjoy it. So, if you actually think about anything I’m droning on about, please, please make it be that trying new things is an extremely good thing and should not be taken for granted.

Thank you so much Ian Brown and Active Lincolnshire for this huge opportunity.

 

Ed Richardson

 

cof