Resilient Jess blogs about Butterfly Bronze Swimming medal!

As I lined up to go to my 200m Butterfly race, nerves were building up inside. As it was my friend’s first race, I told her that she’d be fine – but I was feeling the complete opposite inside! My friend went on to get a 3:21 – way better than my previous PB. I was determined to beat her.

The referee blew three whistles which meant that we all had to get on the blocks. I stood on the blocks and my legs were shaking… and there went the beep!

I dived in and started my Butterfly. I swam seven good lengths and, on the final lap, I thought I might have done quite well: I just didn’t expect to get a 3:10! I couldn’t believe it at first, and neither could my parents – I think they didn’t want to excite me too much in case I got disqualified.I got dressed and came back to the poolside to read my time. I had come third! Yay!

I felt so proud and left for home with my bronze medal dangling around my neck.

Jess, Year 7. October 2017.