OS (2017) Amy Barnes blogs working to fund a Gap Year before University.

Whilst doing my A levels I always knew I wanted to go travelling, after the exams, but before university. Taking a break from education to see the world and find adventure!   However, such adventures must be funded so I have got a full time job at a local coffee shop in Stamford to save up the funds for my travels. I aim to earn around £4000 (plus savings) which I hope will be plenty. The long days and hand burning from filling up tea pots are going to be worth it! I aim to stay in this job until after Christmas, then to jet off with my friend to the other side of the world!  I’ve done a lot  of research online, collected brochures from school, spoken to friends that have done it etc. I know that when I book flights I’m going to book multiple ones at once, on sky scanner, which gets them cheaply.   I will then have them booked from country to country, before I go.

First on my destination list is Thailand for sure! The postcard-perfect beaches, friendly locals, delicious street food will all be an amazing experience. And of course, it is backpacker heaven – everybody goes there and it sounds amazing from what I’ve heard of people’s experiences, especially the full moon party. I’d love to visit Bangkok, Koh Phangan, Koh Phi Phi for the Snorkelling.

I then plan to either get a bus or plane to Cambodia which is next door to Thailand, and then Vietnam. Cambodia holds the ‘Flight of the Gibbon’ experience in Siem Reap which is a huge zipline park (a bit like Go Ape, but so much larger). Visiting a river village sounds good, as they float on bamboo stilts so I plan to visit Chong Khneas Village to see for myself.   There are also many temples in Cambodia, and I feel like there is going to be a bit more walking around and sightseeing here than in Thailand!

Next? Vietnam! Seeing Dalat, touring the Mekong Delta, diving in Nha Tang and going to Halong Bay! I will return and work again in April and May, then jet off again sometime in summer to either Bali or Australia – I haven’t planned that far yet!

When else am I going to have this perfect opportunity to go travelling? I have a secure place at the University of Leeds to do a BSc in Product Design, I’m young and I want to do it before I run up university debts which would make it a lot more difficult. I’m super excited and can’t wait for what lies ahead in the near future.  Now, can I get you a coffee or a tea?

Amy Barnes, (OS 2017), October 2017.