Let’s do the show right here! A Hairspray audition.

Last week I auditioned for the big musical of the year: Hairspray. This was my fourth audition for SES, and just like the other three it was totally chill! I arrived at 4:10, because I walked from SHS, and had 30 minutes to rehearse and practice.  It’s really important to know your lines perfectly so that you can concentrate fully on your performance.  You have to totally convince the audience that you have become another character.

When going into the audition I was nervous about how I was going to perform. However, as soon as I stepped into the room and saw the teachers I relaxed and just had fun. I sang ‘I can hear the bells’ by Tracy Turnblad and I performed a duologue with the character Link. I chose to perform a duologue rather than a monologue because I think it’s important to show that you can act off people.  Overall, it was very chilled and relaxed experience there was no stress and I am glad I auditioned…now I’ve just got to wait to see if I got cast!

Libby Guttridge-Smith, September 2017